Political Violence

Looking for additional information?

Political Violence

The Talbot Political Violence team manages a geographically diverse portfolio that has earned its reputation as lead insurer and reinsurer of war and terrorism risks worldwide. Our highly qualified underwriting team is one of the most established in the Lloyd’s Market.

A terrorism incident can have a significant impact on a business, both financially and reputationally. Protecting assets against property damage or business interruption resulting from acts of terror should therefore always be considered as part of a holistic risk management strategy.

The terror threat is more complex as technologies advance and groups adapt to pressure from heightened counterterrorism activity. Methodologies have developed significantly post the 9/11 terrorist attacks: there has been a notable movement from large-scale, high-impact attacks to more frequent but lower-scale attacks, often targeting more vulnerable assets.

Businesses are facing a more complex insurance landscape. They not only need cover against extensive property damage or bodily injury, but they must also focus on protecting against business interruption and subsequent loss of revenue. In recognition of these changing requirements, Talbot has invested significantly in adapting our product offering over recent years to respond to evolving threats.

Why Talbot

Part of the AIG group, Talbot Underwriting Ltd (‘Talbot’), is the Centre of Excellence for Political Violence business originating from Talbot and AIG offices. When we refer to ‘Talbot AIG’ on these pages, we mean the combined Talbot and AIG offering.  AIG purchased the Validus Group (of which Talbot was part) in 2018. Some colleagues in the United States of America are still grouped within Validus for organisational purposes.

Talbot AIG uses specialist political risk tools to deliver a competitive advantage through valuable insights for our clients against the latest global threats. We offer our clients tailored insights in crisis consultancy and bomb-blast analysis. Our market-leading position is reinforced by the ability to offer our clients coverage through Lloyd’s of London and on locally admitted paper through our global network of offices.

Our Products

Contacts by region

William Dunn

Chief Executive Officer

T+65 6303 9338

william.dunn@talbotuw.com

Johnny Ng

Class Underwriter

T+65 6303 9357

johnny.ng@talbotuw.com

Jack Skinner

Assistant Underwriter

T+65 6303 9350

jack.skinner@talbotuw.com

Edward Atkin

Head of Terrorism and Political Violence

T+44 20 7550 3525 | M+44 7415 267954

edward.atkin@talbotuw.com

Piers Harding

Senior Class Underwriter

T+44 20 7390 5542

piers.harding@talbotuw.com

David Thompson

Class Underwriter – Terrorism and Political Violence 

T+44 20 7550 3524 | M+44 7535 697915

david.thompson@talbotuw.com

Georgina Rennie

Class Underwriter – Terrorism and Political Violence 

T+44 20 7550 3504 | M+44 7989 203052

georgina.rennie@talbotuw.com

George Wallace

Class Underwriter - War & Terrorism

T+44 20 7390 5626 | M+44 795 835 7727

george.wallace@talbotuw.com

Gisela Nilsson

Class Underwriter

T+44 20 7550 3796 | M+44 794 668 6805

gisela.nilsson@talbotuw.com

Jay Alam

Class Underwriter - Political Violence

T+44 20 7550 3583

jay.alam@talbotuw.com

Roseanna McCluskey

Class Underwriter – Terrorism and Political Violence 

T+44 20 7550 3695 

roseanna.mccluskey@talbotuw.com

Will Green

Class Underwriter - War

T+44 20 7550 3552

will.green@talbotuw.com

Corina Monaghan

Senior Vice President - Head of Political Risk & Trade Credit

T+1 212 785 6075

corina.monaghan@validusuw.com

Joe Walsh

Senior Vice President - Head of War and Terrorism USA

T+1 212 785 2014 | M+1 917 822 4089

joe.walsh@validusuw.com

Andrea Sanchez

Political Violence & Cyber White Label

T+1 786 777 7853 | M+ 1 305 794 0398

andrea.sanchez@talbotuw.com